CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67 Mar05

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

Crimespree issue 67 featuring Bill Crider, Mickey Spillane   In our next issue we’ve got Bill Crider on the cover, we celebrate Mickey Spillane’s 100th birthday and two articles from Eryk Pruit along with our regular features.   If you need to subscribe or renew information is RIGHT HERE    

INTERVIEW WITH LAURIEN BERENSON

Here Comes Santa Paws (A Melanie Travis Mystery Book 24) Laurien Berenson Kensington Pub. Sept 24th, 2019 Here Comes Santa Paws by Laurien Berenson blends a cozy mystery with fantastic characters along with tidbits about dogs.  As the story progresses readers attempt to solve this “who done it” murder right with the main character Melanie, ever the amateur sleuth. The plot begins with Melanie’s Aunt Peg calling her to announce someone left three Australian Shepherds puppies in the Christmas stockings at the end of her driveway. While visiting her Aunt and playing with the puppies Melanie gets a frantic call from her good friend Claire...

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: TROUBLE IS WHAT I DO by WALTER MOSLEY Oct11

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: TROUBLE IS WHAT I DO b...

To be entered in the drawing, send an email to:  Jon@crimespreemag.com Put CONTEST in the subject line. Please include your address in the body of the email. TROUBLE IS WHAT I DO by Walter Mosley From innovative bestselling novelist Walter Mosley comes the return of the beloved Leonid McGill detective series featuring a morally ambiguous P.I. who solves crimes and whose victims are society’s most downtrodden. Leonid McGill’s spent a lifetime building up his reputation in the New York investigative scene. His seemingly infallible instinct and inside knowledge of the crime world make him the ideal man to help when Phillip...

INTERVIEW WITH NAOMI RAGEN

An Unorthodox Match (Yaakov and Leah Book 1) Naomi Ragen St. Martin’s Press Sept.24, 2019 An Unorthodox Match by Naomi Ragen has a basis for this novel, the insular world of the Jewish community; yet, any denomination can fit into this beautiful love story.  The powerful and moving plot considers how faith, love, forgiveness, and acceptance are all intertwined. Issues sensitively explored include hypocrisy, bigotry, family dysfunction, the stigma of mental illness, and the economic hardships confronting men who choose to be studious religiously, instead of earning a living. The story begins with Lola Howard, now called Leah, who...

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: NOTHING MORE DANGEROUS by ALLEN ESKENS Oct04

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: NOTHING MORE DANGEROUS...

Enter via the email below for a chance to win! NOTHING MORE DANGEROUS by Allen Eskens To be entered in the drawing, send an email to:  Jon@crimespreemag.com Put CONTEST in the subject line. Please include your address in the body of the email. A coming-of-age novel in the tradition of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: In a small town where loyalty to family and to “your people” carries the weight of a sacred oath, defying those unspoken rules can be a deadly proposition. After fifteen years of growing up in the Ozark hills with his widowed mother, high-school freshman Boady Sanden is beyond ready to move on. He dreams of...

Crimespree Reviews Ken Burns Country Music

Charlie Pride and Johnny Cash The first Ken Burns movie/documentary I saw was Prohibition. It was so well done, I enjoyed it thoroughly and I watched it twice back to back. I had heard of some of hi others and I proceeded to seek them out and bought them all. And I love them all. His depth of research is amazing. They take subjects that are pure America and find tidbits that are little known or maybe even unknown. I thought I knew a lot about Jazz but after the first viewing I felt I had just taken a master class. Same with the Baseball movie. Going into the Country Music set (16+ hour) I would have said I was a casual fan of country music....

INTERVIEW WITH IRENE HANNON

Dark Ambitions (Code of Honor Book 3) Irene Hannon Revell Pub October 1st, 2019 Dark Ambitions by Irene Hannon has action, mystery, suspense, and some romance.  Politics, money, and greed come together to show how power can corrupt. This finale in the series brings back a secondary character from the previous books and introduces a new one. The book begins with former army captain Rick Jordan finding at his camp for foster children, in rural Missouri, some blood in the snow.  Investigating further he recognizes a good luck charm of his army buddy Jackson “Boomer” Dunn. Believing Dunn is in trouble he hires the private investigation...

INTERVIEW WITH KYLE MILLS

Vince Flynn’s LETHAL AGENT by Kyle Mills harkens back to earlier Mitch Rapp books. Although fans miss Vince Flynn, having Mills continue the Mitch Rapp series has made the passing much easier as his writing style does not stray very far. This story is classic Mitch Rapp, putting him in a hostile environment, having to face off against the Islamic terrorists and corrupt Washington politicians, along with those who have no loyalty, no gratitude, and no courage to defend the CIA as others try to throw them under the bus. The only part where this story has differentiated from the earlier Vince Flynn novels is the lack of team work, comraderie,...

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: ELIZABETH HAND’S CURIOUS TOYS Sep27

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: ELIZABETH HAND’S...

Enter via the email below for a chance to win! CURIOUS TOYS by Elizabeth Hand An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in “this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike.” (Sarah McCarry) In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble. Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses...