CRIMESPREE ISSUE 65 Apr21

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 65

Crimespree issue 65 featuring Nick Petrie   Our next issue is ready,Nick Petrie is on the cover .  Kristi Belcamino and Chris Holm are back with new columns. There are lots of interviews and great articles.   If you need to subscribe or renew information is RIGHT HERE  ...

SECRET SERVICE DOGS Is Featured In This Week’s Giveaway Nov17

SECRET SERVICE DOGS Is Featured In This Week’...

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of SECRET SERVICE DOGS by Maria Goodavage SECRET SERVICE DOGS In an age fraught with terrorism, United States Secret Service canine teams risk their lives to safeguard the president, vice president, their families, visiting heads of state, and a host of others. Unprecedented access to these heroic dog teams has allowed a fascinating first-time-ever look at a very special breed of heroes. Wherever the president goes, there will be dogs. They’ll be there no matter what the country or state. They’ll be there regardless of the political climate, the danger level, the...

Q&A with Lawrence Kelter

Novelist Lawrence Kelter chats about writing BACK TO BROOKLYN, the literary sequel to Dale Launer’s  classic legal comedy film My Cousin Vinny.   How did the chance to write BACK TO BROOKLYN come about? Lawrence Kelter: There was one specific project I always wanted to be involved in, but like the rock star dream and the Super Bowl victory, I thought it was not to be. You might think this silly or lame. And maybe it is. There was a film I enjoyed so much that every time it popped up on TV, it made me late for an appointment because I just couldn’t pull myself away. I knew the script verbatim and often incorporated the better-known...

SHE RIDES SHOTGUN by JORDAN HARPER

HarperCollins/ECCO June 2017   Sometimes, you’ve just got to believe the hype. For the last five months, I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews from people I trust for Jordan Harper’s debut novel SHE RIDES SHOTGUN. Harper had already caused a stir with his short-story collection LOVE AND OTHER WOUNDS, so hopes were high for his forthcoming novel. That’s the thing about social media: when you tend to hang out with like-minded folks, everyone seems to have the same likes and dislikes that you do. We all dig the same stuff, look forward to the same books, rave about the same movies. This book was on my list, and it was just a matter of...

10(ish) QUESTIONS WITH KEN BRUEN & CRAIG McDO...

THE GHOSTS OF GALWAY is the 13th Jack Taylor novel by author Ken Bruen. To date, nine novels about Bruen’s Irish ex-cop turned private detective have been adapted to screen starring Iain Glen of Game of Thrones fame. The series has variously been nominated for and awarded many honors, including those for Edgar©, Anthony, Macavity and Shamus awards. HEAD GAMES: the Graphic Novel is Craig McDonald’s adaptation of his 2007 debut novel that was a finalist for Edgar© and Anthony awards, and one of 10 novels in his internationally best-selling Hector Lassiter series about an author/screenwriter notorious for “living what he writes and writing...

MARCH OF CRIME by Jess Lourey

Midnight Ink September 8, 2017   Mira James has become the Jessica Fletcher of Battle Lake. She has found a corpse every month since she moved to the small northern Minnesota town in May. That makes 10 dead bodies, if you’re playing along at home. She realizes that this is weird and that it hasn’t made her any friends with the local law enforcement. As you can guess, Mira stumbles upon another deceased resident in MARCH OF CRIME by Jess Lourey.  This time she literally bumps into it at the local café. One of the residents of the Battle Lake Senior Sunset has taken up a new hobby of creating life-size dolls. Someone has hidden a dead body...

Review of MIND GAME by Iris Johansen

MIND GAME Eve Duncan #21 Iris Johansen Oct 24th, 2017 St. Martin’s Press MIND GAME by Iris Johansen blends fast paced action involving “Super Heroes” with a bit of romance along with a touch of the supernatural. She is able to portray the characters as real-life people that possess some manipulative power. Johansen feels she writes her characters having these powers “within all my books. I think they present more interesting characters. I enjoy exploring how we all have feelings and senses. I truly believe we all have something that is right below psychic powers, although, some have stronger powers than others. We titled the book Mind Game...

AFTERLIFE by Marcus Sakey

Thomas & Mercer July 18, 2017   How do you catch a killer if you’re already dead? That’s the challenge that is presented in AFTERLIFE, the mind-bending new thriller from Marcus Sakey. In AFTERLIFE, a serial killer has paralyzed the city of Chicago. There is no pattern to when or where the sniper will take his next victim. People in the city fear for their lives when they go to work or to the grocery store. 17 people have died in a short period of time and there’s no telling when number 18 will be next. FBI agent Will Brody has been assigned to a task force working to identify this killer and bring him to justice. The task force is led...

Karen Ellis, Layton Green are featured in this week’s giveaway Nov10

Karen Ellis, Layton Green are featured in this wee...

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of THE TAKE by Christopher ReichA MAP OF THE DARK by Karen Ellis and WRITTEN IN BLOOD by Layton Green A MAP OF THE DARK A race-against-time thriller for fans of Tana French and Megan Abbott: to save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself… Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can’t ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go...