CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67 Mar05

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

Crimespree issue 67 featuring Bill Crider, Mickey Spillane   In our next issue we’ve got Bill Crider on the cover, we celebrate Mickey Spillane’s 100th birthday and two articles from Eryk Pruit along with our regular features.   If you need to subscribe or renew information is RIGHT HERE    

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY – Denise Mina’s CONVICTION Apr19

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY – Denise MinaR...

CONVICTION by Denise Mina The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a housewife’s present life on a collision course with her secret past. The day Anna McDonald’s quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before: Packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast. Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone. Reeling, desperate for disctraction, Anna returns to the podcast. Other people’s problems are much better than...

MURDER-A-GO-GO’S: CRIME FICTION INSPIRED BY THE MU...

Down and Out Books March 23d, 2019 Edited by Holly West The short story can be one of the most enjoyable storytelling vehicles for any genre. Add a little violence here, a little revenge there, and you have a crime story that can fit comfortably into any genre. That’s the beauty of crime fiction: by changing the set design, a crime story can take a reader into any type of story they like. As much fun as short stories are to read, outlets for this kind of writing have been slowly disappearing in recent years. This is a real shame, since short stories are one of the chief ways readers can discover their new favorite authors. With...

Interview of Ian Rankin by Paul Johnston – v...

From the Memorial Event, featuring Ian Rankin that took place on March 26th, Ian and the ever lovely Dr Paul Johnston, himself a crime novelist. Mr Johnston has a new Quint book (IMPOLITIC CORPSES) out this August from Severn House. Mr Johnston and Mr Rankin have both been featured as cover-boys for Crimespree Magazine. We heartily recommend them both for both reading and conversation. Although it is best to avoid asking Mr Johnston, “What is noir?” The widely adored Paul...

AT LONG LAST, THE GIVEAWAY LINK! DECEPTION COVE! Apr17

AT LONG LAST, THE GIVEAWAY LINK! DECEPTION COVE!

DECEPTION COVE by Owen Laukkanen For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, an “intimate and cinematic” thriller* about an ex-Marine, and ex-convict, and a rescue dog caught in the crosshairs of a ruthless gang in remote Washington state. Former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life a new widow, with little more to her name than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a loyal dog named Lucy. The only thing she actually cares about is that dog, a black-and-white pit bull mix who helps her cope with the devastating memories of her time in Afghanistan. After fifteen years — nearly half his life — in...

INTERVIEW WITH LINDA FAIRSTEIN

Blood Oath (Alexandra Cooper Book) Linda Fairstein Dutton Pub. March 27th, 2019 Blood Oath by Linda Fairstein has Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper returning to work after taking a hiatus to recover from double personal traumas.  She has no time to ease back into a routine because she is presented with a very formidable case. As the chief of the Special Victims Bureau Alexandra (Alex) oversees and prosecutes sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and related murder cases. After returning to work she is presented with a case by a young woman who has come forward to claim she was assaulted ten years ago, when she was just 14 years...

INTERVIEW WITH LAURA GRIFFIN

Stone Cold Heart (Tracer book 13) Laura Griffin Pocket Books Pub March 26th, 2019 Stone Cold Heart by Laura Griffin brings suspense to the forefront, sprinkled with some romance. The Tracer series shows the different aspects of CSI investigators, where each book highlights the approach to solving a crime. Sara Lockhart is a forensic anthropologist with the Delphi Crime Center in Texas. She is called in after human bones are found in a park by police detective Nolan Hess. He wonders if these are the bones of a local teenage climber who vanished a year ago. The mystery ratchets up when more remains are found.  After more bones are...

INTERVIEW WITH IRIS JOHANSEN

Dark Tribute (Eve Duncan Book 24) Iris Johansen St. Martin’s Press March 26th, 2019 Dark Tribute by Iris Johansen shows why she is such an amazing author.  The story has a riveting plot, very likeable protagonists, and a completely evil antagonist.  Fans of Johansen finally get their wish. This book highlights Cara Delaney, whose guardians are forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and Atlanta Police Detective Joe Quinn. Now as a grown woman she desires to pursue her love of playing the violin with her love of longtime friend, Jock Gavin. He was solely her protector when Cara was younger, but throughout the years the bond between them has only...

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY by Linda Fairstein! Apr05

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY by Linda Fairstein!

BLOOD OATH by Linda Fairstein  New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein explores the depths of Manhattan’s secretive Rockefeller University in this timely, captivating thriller about the deep–and often deadly–reverberations of past sins. Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper of the Manhattan Sex Crimes Unit is finally back at work following a leave of absence, and not a moment too soon. With more women feeling empowered to name their abusers, Alex is eager to return to the courtroom to do what she does best. But even she can’t anticipate the complexity of her first case when she meets Lucy, a young woman...