2012 CWA Dagger shortlists announced

The U.K. based Crime Writers Association announced the finalists for this years’s Daggers. The CWA Dagger awards celebrate the best in contemporary crime writing.

The CWA International Dagger:
The Potter’s Field by Andrea Camilleri, translated by Stephen Sartarelli (Mantle)
I will have Vengeance by Maurizio de Giovanni, translated by Anne Milano Appel (Hersilia Press)
Until Thy Wrath Be Past by Åsa Larsson, translated by Laurie Thompson (Quercus/Maclehose)
Trackers by Deon Meyer, translated by T K L Seegers (Hodder & Stoughton)
Phantom by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett (Harvill Secker)
The Dark Valley by Valerio Varesi, translated by Joseph Farrell (Quercus/Maclehose)

The CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger:
The Crown by Nancy Bilyeau (Orion)
I Will Have Vengeance by Maurizio de Giovanni (Hersilia Press)
Bitter Water by Gordon Ferris (Corvus)
Prague Fatale by Philip Kerr (Quercus)
Icelight by Aly Monroe (John Murray)
Sacrilege by SJ Parris (HarperCollins)
A Willing Victim by Laura Wilson (Quercus)

The CWA Non-Fiction Dagger:
To Live Outside the Law by Leaf Fielding (Serpent’s Tail )
Dark Market by Misha Glenny (Vintage)
Hood Rat by Gavin Knight (Pan Macmillan)
The Negotiator by Ben Lopez (Little, Brown)
Witness by David Smith with Carol Ann Lee (Mainstream)
The Eleventh Day by Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan (Doubleday)

The CWA Dagger in the Library:
The fifteen authors on the longlist for the Dagger in the Library have now been whittled down to six for our shortlist. They are
Belinda Bauer
S.J. Bolton
Susan Hill
Peter May
Steve Mosby
Imogen Robertson.

The CWA Short Story Dagger:
The Golden Hour by Bernie Crossthwaite, from Guilty Consciences
Hixton by William Kent Krueger, from Crimes by Moonlight
The Message by Margaret Murphy, from Best Eaten Cold
He Did Not Always See Her by Claire Seeber, from Guilty Consciences
A Long Time Dead by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins from The Best American Mystery Stories 2011
Laptop by Cath Staincliffe, from Best Eaten Cold

The CWA Debut Dagger:
Death by Glasgow by Jon Breakfield
Easy to Die by Sean Carpenter
The Watchers by Karen Catalona
One Man Army by Bram E. Gieben
Beached by Sandy Gingras
Trick by Sean Hancock
Broken-Winged Bird by Renata Hill
Death Knell by Rob Lowe
Chasing Shadows by Lesley McLaren
The Wrong Domino by Simon Miller
Message from Panama by Britt Vasarhelyi
Port of Spain by Elizabeth Wells

In addition, Frederick Forsyth will be presented with the Diamond Dagger. The Diamond is awarded to an author whose career has “been marked by sustained excellence” and has “made a significant contribution to crime fiction published in the English language.”

The awards will be announced on July 5th at a CWA dinner in London.