2013 Ned Kelly award winners

At the Brisbane Writers Festival, the Australian Crime Writers Association handed out the 2013 Ned Kelly Awards.

Best First Fiction
Zane Lovitt – The Midnight Promise

Rest of the shortlist:
Steve Lewis & Chris Uhlmann – The Marmalade Files
Paul Anderson – The Robbers
Sue Williams – Murder With The Lot
Andrew Grimes – The Richmond Conspiracy

Best Fiction
Geoffrey McGeachin – Blackwattle Creek

Rest of the shortlist:
Robert Gott – The Holiday Murders
Katherine Howell – Web of Deceit
Adrian McKinty – I Hear The Sirens In The Street
Malla Nunn – Silent Valley

True Crime
Robin de Crespigny – The People Smuggler

Rest of the shortlist:
Belinda Hawkins – Every Parent’s Nightmare
Steve Lillebuen – The Devil’s Cinema
Derek Pedley – Dead by Friday
Mark Tedeschi QC – Eugenia

Sandra Harvey Short Story Award
Roger Vickery – Echoes From The Dolphin