2013 SMFS Derringer Award Winners

The 2013 Derringer Award winners, determined by a poll of eligible Short Mystery Fiction Society members March 1–30, 2013 from the previously announced finalists:

BEST FLASH STORY (Up to 1,000 words):
“The Cable Job” by Randy DeWitt (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, September 2012)
Other finalists:
“An Old-Fashioned Villain” by Nick Andreychuk (Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine, May 2012)
“Dead Man” by A.J. Hayes (Off The Record 2: At The Movies, September 2012)
“Daddy’s Girl” by Nicola Kennington (The Flash Fiction Offensive, July 22, 2012)
“Twas the Knife Before Christmas” by Allan Leverone (Shotgun Honey, December 24, 2012)

BEST SHORT STORY (1,001 – 4,000 words):
“Getting Out of the Box” by Michael Bracken (Crime Square, Vantage Point, 2012)
Other finalists:
“A Special Kind of Hell” by Hilary Davidson (BEAT to a PULP: Round Two, May 2012)
“Dead Weight” by Allan Leverone (Burning Bridges: A Renegade Fiction Anthology, April 2012)
“Nain Rouge” by Barbara Nadel (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, August 2012)
“Baby Boy” by Todd Robinson (Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT, September 2012)

BEST LONG STORY (4,001 – 8,000 words):
“When Duty Calls” by Art Taylor (Chesapeake Crimes: This Job Is Murder, 2012)
Other finalists:
“The Pot Hunters” by David Hagerty (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, June 2012)
“A Regular Story” by Peggy McFarland (Best New England Crime Stories 2013: Blood Moon, Level Best Books, November 2012)
“Peaches” by Todd Robinson (Grift #1, April 2012)
“Double Wedding” Mo Walsh (Best New England Crime Stories 2013: Blood Moon, Level Best Books, November 2012)

BEST NOVELETTE (8,001 – 20,000 words):
“Wood-Smoke Boys” by Doug Allyn (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, March/April 2012)
Other finalists:
“Iphigenia in Aulis” by Mike Carey (An Apple for the Creature, September 2012)
“Mariel” by David Dean (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, December 2012)
“Pirate Dave and the Captain’s Ghost” by Toni L.P. Kelner (An Apple for the Creature, September 2012)
“The Sunny South” by Chris Muessig (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, March/April 2012)


Chosen by deliberations of a panel including the SMFS officers, awards coordinator, and representatives of the regular membership:

Loren D. Estleman