2015 CrimeFest Awards

The folks behind Crimefest have announced the winners for the Crimefest awards.

The Audible Sounds of Crime Award recognises the best crime audiobook published in both print and audio in 2014. Courtesy of sponsor Audible UK, the winning author and audiobook reader share the £1,000 prize equally and each receives a Bristol Blue Glass commemorative award.

Robert Galbraith for The Silkworm, read by Robert Glenister (Little, Brown Book Group)

Rest of the Shortlist
Ben Aaronovitch for Foxglove Summer, read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith (Orion Publishing Group)
Lee Child for Personal, read by Jeff Harding (Penguin Random House Audio)
Anthony Horowitz for Moriarty, read by Derek Jacobi & Julian Rhind-Tutt (Orion Publishing Group)
Peter James for Want You Dead, read by Daniel Weyman (Macmillan Digital Audio)
Stephen King for Mr Mercedes, read by Will Patton (Hodder & Stoughton)
Jo Nesbø for The Son, read by Sean Barrett (Penguin Random House Audio)
James Oswald for The Hangman’s Song, read by Ian Hanmore (Penguin Random House Audio)

The Goldsboro Last Laugh Award is for the best humorous crime novel first published in the British Isles in 2014. The £500 prize is sponsored by Goldsboro Books, the UK’s largest specialist in signed and/or first edition books. The winner also receives a Bristol Blue Glass vase.

L. C. Tyler for Crooked Herring (Allison & Busby)

Rest of the Shortlist
Lawrence Block for The Burglar Who Counted the Spoons (Orion Publishing Group)
Declan Burke for Crime Always Pays (Severn House Publishers)
Christopher Fowler for Bryant & May – The Bleeding Heart (Bantam/Transworld)
Shane Kuhn for Kill Your Boss (Little, Brown Book Group)
Chris Pavone for The Accident (Faber & Faber)

The eDunnit Award is for the best crime fiction ebook first published in both hardcopy and in electronic format in the British Isles in 2014. The winning author receives a cash prize as well as a commemorative Bristol Blue Glass vase.

Charles Cumming for A Colder War (HarperCollins)

Rest of the Shortlist
Linwood Barclay for No Safe House (Orion Publishing Group)
Lawrence Block for The Burglar Who Counted the Spoons (Orion Publishing Group)
Chris Ewan for Dark Tides (Faber & Faber)
Greg Illes for Natchez Burning (HarperCollins)
Thomas Mogford for Hollow Mountain (Bloomsbury)
Thomas Sweterlitsch for Tomorrow and Tomorrow (Headline)
Andrew Taylor for The Silent Boy (HarperCollins)


The H.R.F. Keating Award is for the best biography or critical book related to crime fiction published between 2013 and 2014. The award is named for Harry Keating, who died in 2011. Harry was one of Britain’s most esteemed crime novelists, a reviewer for The Times, and a writer of books about crime fiction. The winning author receives a commemorative Bristol Blue Glass vase.

Clare Clarke for Late Victorian Crime Fiction in the Shadows of Sherlock (Palgrave, 2014)

Rest of the Shortlist
Pamela Bedore for Dime Novels and the Roots of American Detective Fiction (Palgrave 2013)
Barry Forshaw for Nordic Noir (Pocket Essentials, 2013)
Barry Forshaw for Euro Noir (No Exit Press, 2014)
John Martin for Crime Scene: Britain & Ireland (Five Leaves, 2014)
Lucy Worsley for A Very British Murder (BBC Books, 2013)

Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year:

The Silence of the Sea by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir tr. Victoria Cribb (Hodder & Stoughton; Iceland)

Rest of the Shortlist
The Hummngbird by Kati Hiekkapelto tr. David Hackston (Arcadia Books; Finland)
The Hunting Dogs by Jørn Lier Horst tr. Anne Bruce (Sandstone Press; Norway)
Reykjavik Nights by Arnaldur Indriðason tr. Victoria Cribb (Harvill Secker; Iceland)
The Human Flies by Hans Olav Lahlum tr. Kari Dickson (Mantle; Norway)
Falling Freely, As If In a Dream by Leif G W Persson tr. Paul Norlen (Doubleday; Sweden)