2016 CrimeFest Award Winners

Last Weekend, at Crimefest 2016, the following awards were presented.

The Audible Sounds of Crime Award is for the best unabridged crime audiobook first published in the UK in 2015 in both printed and audio formats, and available for download from audible.co.uk, Britain’s largest provider of downloadable audiobooks. Courtesy of sponsor Audible UK, the winning author and audiobook reader(s) share the £1,000 prize equally and each receives a Bristol Blue Glass commemorative award.

 Paula Hawkins for The Girl on the Train, read by Clare Corbett, India Fisher & Louise Brealey (Random House Audiobooks)

The other nominees are:
Rachel Abbott for Sleep Tight, read by Melody Grove & Andrew Wincott (Whole Story Audiobooks)
Lee Child for Make Me, read by Jeff Harding (Random House Audiobooks)
Harlan Coben for The Stranger, read by Eric Meyers (Orion Publishing Group)
Robert Galbraith for Career of Evil, read by Robert Glenister (Hachette Audio UK)
Stephen King for Finders Keepers, read by Will Patton (Hodder & Stoughton)
David Lagercrantz for The Girl in the Spider’s Web, translated by George Goulding and read by Saul Reichlin (Quercus)
Clare Mackintosh for I Let You Go, read by David Thorpe & Julia Barrie (Hachette Audio)
Ian Rankin for Even Dogs in the Wild, read by James Macpherson (Orion Publishing Group)


The Kobo eDunnit Award is for the best crime fiction ebook first published in both hardcopy and in electronic format in the British Isles in 2015. Courtesy of sponsor Kobo, the winning author receives £500 and a Bristol Blue Glass commemorative award.

 Michael Connelly for The Crossing (Orion Publishing Group) 

The other nominees are:
Linwood Barclay for Broken Promise (Orion Publishing Group)
Judith Flanders for A Bed of Scorpions (Allison & Busby)
Suzette A. Hill for A Southwold Mystery (Allison & Busby)
Laurie R. King for Dreaming Spies (Allison & Busby)
Jax Miller for Freedom’s Child (HarperCollins)
Denise Mina for Blood, Salt, Water (Orion Publishing Group)
Andrew Taylor for The Silent Boy (HarperCollins)

Eligible titles were submitted by publishers, and a team of British crime fiction reviewers voted to establish the shortlist and the winning title.

The Last Laugh Award is for the best humorous crime novel first published in the British Isles in 2015. The winner receives a Bristol Blue Glass commemorative award.

Christopher Fowler for Bryant & May and the Burning Man (Transworld) 

The other nominees are:
Sascha Arango for The Truth and Other Lies (Simon & Schuster)
Alan Bradley for As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust (Orion Publishing Group)
Simon Brett for Mrs Pargeter’s Principle (Severn House Publishing)
Elly Griffiths for Smoke and Mirrors (Quercus)
Malcolm Pryce for The Case of the ‘Hail Mary’ Celeste (Bloomsbury)
Mike Ripley for Mr Campion’s Fox (Severn House Publishing)
–Jason Starr for Savage Lane (No Exit Press)


The H.R.F. Keating Award is for the best biographical or critical book related to crime fiction first published in the British Isles in 2015. H.R.F. ‘Harry’ Keating was one of Britain’s most esteemed crime novelists, and a renowned reviewer and writer of books about crime fiction. The winning author receives a commemorative Bristol Blue Glass award.

 Martin Edwards for The Golden Age of Murder (HarperCollins)

Nominees for the H.R.F. Keating Award:
David Stuart Davies & Barry Forshaw for The Sherlock Holmes Book (Dorling Kindersley)
Fergus Fleming for The Man With the Golden Typewriter: Ian Fleming’s James Bond Letters (Bloomsbury)
Barry Forshaw for Crime Uncovered: Detective (Intellect)
Julius Green for Curtain Up: Agatha Christie – A Life in Theatre (HarperCollins)
Maysam Hasam Jaber for Criminal Femmes Fatales in American Hardboiled Crime Fiction (Palgrave Macmillan)
Fiona Peters & Rebecca Stewart for Crime Uncovered: Anti-hero (Intellect)
Adam Sisman for John le Carré: The Biography (Bloomsbury)


CRIMEFEST is honoured to host the presentation of The Petrona Award which was created in the memory of Maxine Clarke by her friends and colleagues. The award celebrates the best of Scandinavian crime fiction.

Jørn Lier Horst for The Caveman, translated by Anne Bruce (Sandstone Press; Norway) 

The other nominees are:
Karin Fossum for The Drowned Boy, translated by Kari Dickson (Harvill Secker; Norway)
Kati Hiekkapelto for The Defenceless, translated by David Hackston (Orenda Books; Finland)
David Lagercrantz for The Girl in the Spider’s Web, translated by George Goulding (MacLehose Press; Sweden)
Hans Olav Lahlum for Satellite People, translated by Kari Dickson (Mantle/Pan Macmillan; Norway)
Antti Tuomainen for Dark As My Heart, translated by Lola Rogers (Harvill Secker; Finland)