25th Annual Anthony Award Nominees Announced

Milwaukee – May 10, 2011 – The nominees for this year’s Anthony Awards, which are given at the annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention, were announced today by conference chair, Jon Jordan and Awards Chair John Purcell.

Best Novel
Bury Your Dead – Louise Penny – Minotaur Books
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter – Tom Franklin – William Morrow
Faithful Place – Tana French – Viking
I’d Know You Anywhere – Laura Lippman – William Morrow
The Lock Artist – Steve Hamilton – Minotaur

Best First Novel
Damage Done – Hilary Davidson – Forge Books
The Poacher’s Son – Paul Doiron – Minotaur Books
Rogue Island- Bruce DeSilva – Forge Books
The Sherlockian – Graham Moore – Twelve
Snow Angels – James Thompson – Putnam

Best Paperback Original
Drive Time – Hank Phillipi Ryan – Mira
Expiration Date – Duane Swierczynski – Minotaur Books
The Hanging Tree – Bryan Gruley – Touchstone (Simon and Schuster)
Long Time Coming – Robert Goddard – Bantam
Vienna Secrets – Frank Tallis – Random House
Best Short Story
The Frame Maker – Simon Wood – The Back Alley
The Hitter – Chris Holm – Needle
Homeless – Pat Morin – Mystery Montage
Scent of Lilacs – Doug Allyn – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine Sept/Oct 2010
So Much in Common – Mary Jane Maffini – EQMM Sept/Oct. 2010
Swing Shift – Dana Cameron – Crimes By Moonlight

Best Graphic Novel
Beasts of Burden – Jill Thompson/Evan Dorkin – Dark Horse
The Chill – Jason Starr – Vertigo Crime
Richard Stark’s Parker, Vol. 2: The Outfit –Darwyn Cooke – IDW Press
Scalped Vol 6 – The Gnawing – Jason Aaron – Vertigo
Sickness in the Family – Denise Mina – Vertigo Crime
Tumor – Joshua Hale Fialkov/ Noel Tuazon – ARCHAIA STUDIOS PRESS

Best Critical /Non-Fiction
Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks – John Curran – Harper Collins
Charlie Chan: The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and His Rendezvous with American History – Yunte Huang – W. W. Norton & Company
Sherlock Holmes for Dummies – Steve Doyle – For Dummies
Thrillers: 100 Must Reads – David Morrell – Oceanview
The Wire: Truth Be Told – Rafael Alvarez – Grove Press
Best Website/Blog
Jen’s Book Thoughts – Jen Forbus
The Rap Sheet – J. Kingston Pierce
Sirens of Suspense – Chantelle Aimée Osman
Spinetingler – Sandra Ruttan
Stop. You’re Killing Me – Surber/Ulrich

The nominations are taken from votes cast by members of Bouchercon, the current year (2011) and the previous year (2010). The awards are named after Anthony Boucher, a book reviewer and early champion of the mystery genre.

Previous winners include New York Times bestselling authors, Robert Crais (The Monkey’s Raincoat), Laura Lippman (What The Dead Know), Charlaine Harris (Dead Until Dark), and Nevada Barr (Track of the Cat). The first Anthony Awards were given out in 1986 and included Sue Grafton, Jonathan Kellerman, and Nancy Pickard.

Attendees will vote for this year’s winners at the 2011 Bouchercon World Mystery Convention in St. Louis (Sep 15 – 18). The winners will be announced at the awards brunch on the morning of September 18th.

For more information about the Anthony Awards and the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention, please visit www.Bouchercon2011.com.