Interview of Ian Rankin by Paul Johnston – v...

From the Memorial Event, featuring Ian Rankin that took place on March 26th, Ian and the ever lovely Dr Paul Johnston, himself a crime novelist. Mr Johnston has a new Quint book (IMPOLITIC CORPSES) out this August from Severn House. Mr Johnston and Mr Rankin have both been featured as cover-boys for Crimespree Magazine. We heartily recommend them both for both reading and conversation. Although it is best to avoid asking Mr Johnston, “What is noir?” The widely adored Paul...

AT LONG LAST, THE GIVEAWAY LINK! DECEPTION COVE! Apr17

AT LONG LAST, THE GIVEAWAY LINK! DECEPTION COVE!

DECEPTION COVE by Owen Laukkanen For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, an “intimate and cinematic” thriller* about an ex-Marine, and ex-convict, and a rescue dog caught in the crosshairs of a ruthless gang in remote Washington state. Former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life a new widow, with little more to her name than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a loyal dog named Lucy. The only thing she actually cares about is that dog, a black-and-white pit bull mix who helps her cope with the devastating memories of her time in Afghanistan. After fifteen years — nearly half his life — in...

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY by Linda Fairstein! Apr05

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY by Linda Fairstein!

BLOOD OATH by Linda Fairstein  New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein explores the depths of Manhattan’s secretive Rockefeller University in this timely, captivating thriller about the deep–and often deadly–reverberations of past sins. Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper of the Manhattan Sex Crimes Unit is finally back at work following a leave of absence, and not a moment too soon. With more women feeling empowered to name their abusers, Alex is eager to return to the courtroom to do what she does best. But even she can’t anticipate the complexity of her first case when she meets Lucy, a young woman...

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: MURDER BY THE BOOK by CLAIRE HARMAN Mar29

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: MURDER BY THE BOOK by ...

From the acclaimed biographer–the fascinating, little-known story of a Victorian-era murder that rocked literary London, leading Charles Dickens, William Thackeray, and Queen Victoria herself to wonder: Can a novel kill? In May 1840, Lord William Russell, well known in London’s highest social circles, was found with his throat cut. The brutal murder had the whole city talking. The police suspected Russell’s valet, Courvoisier, but the evidence was weak. The missing clue, it turned out, lay in the unlikeliest place: what Courvoisier had been reading. In the years just before the murder, new printing methods had made books cheap and abundant,...

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: KILLING EVE – NO...

Eve and Villanelle plan for a high-stakes showdown in this sophisticated follow-up to the spy thriller that inspired the hit TV series Killing Eve. “If you want us to remain silent — if you want to retain your freedom, your job, and your reputation — you need to tell us everything, and I mean everything. . .” We last saw Eve and Villanelle in a spy vs. spy race around the world, crossing powerful criminal organizations and dangerous governments, each trying to come out on top. But they aren’t finished yet. In this sequel to Killing Eve: Codename Villanelle, former M16 operative Eve reveals a new side to...