Share This

Blog

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

Posted by on Mar 5, 2018 in News | Comments Off on CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

Crimespree issue 67 featuring Bill Crider, Mickey Spillane   In our next issue we’ve got Bill Crider on the cover, we celebrate Mickey Spillane’s 100th birthday and two articles from Eryk Pruit along with our regular features.   If you need to subscribe or renew information is RIGHT HERE    

read more

INTERVIEW WITH LAURIEN BERENSON

Posted by on Oct 13, 2019 in Books, Features, Interviews | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH LAURIEN BERENSON

Here Comes Santa Paws (A Melanie Travis Mystery Book 24) Laurien Berenson Kensington Pub. Sept 24th, 2019 Here Comes Santa Paws by Laurien Berenson blends a cozy mystery with fantastic characters along with tidbits about dogs.  As the story progresses readers attempt to solve this “who done it” murder right with the main character Melanie, ever the amateur sleuth. The plot begins with Melanie’s Aunt Peg calling her to announce someone left three Australian Shepherds puppies in the Christmas stockings at the end of her driveway. While...

read more

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: TROUBLE IS WHAT I DO by WALTER MOSLEY

Posted by on Oct 11, 2019 in Giveaway | 0 comments

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: TROUBLE IS WHAT I DO by WALTER MOSLEY

To be entered in the drawing, send an email to:  Jon@crimespreemag.com Put CONTEST in the subject line. Please include your address in the body of the email. TROUBLE IS WHAT I DO by Walter Mosley From innovative bestselling novelist Walter Mosley comes the return of the beloved Leonid McGill detective series featuring a morally ambiguous P.I. who solves crimes and whose victims are society’s most downtrodden. Leonid McGill’s spent a lifetime building up his reputation in the New York investigative scene. His seemingly...

read more

INTERVIEW WITH NAOMI RAGEN

Posted by on Oct 10, 2019 in Books, Features, Interviews | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH NAOMI RAGEN

An Unorthodox Match (Yaakov and Leah Book 1) Naomi Ragen St. Martin’s Press Sept.24, 2019 An Unorthodox Match by Naomi Ragen has a basis for this novel, the insular world of the Jewish community; yet, any denomination can fit into this beautiful love story.  The powerful and moving plot considers how faith, love, forgiveness, and acceptance are all intertwined. Issues sensitively explored include hypocrisy, bigotry, family dysfunction, the stigma of mental illness, and the economic hardships confronting men who choose to be...

read more

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: NOTHING MORE DANGEROUS by ALLEN ESKENS

Posted by on Oct 4, 2019 in Giveaway | 4 comments

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: NOTHING MORE DANGEROUS by ALLEN ESKENS

Enter via the email below for a chance to win! NOTHING MORE DANGEROUS by Allen Eskens To be entered in the drawing, send an email to:  Jon@crimespreemag.com Put CONTEST in the subject line. Please include your address in the body of the email. A coming-of-age novel in the tradition of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: In a small town where loyalty to family and to “your people” carries the weight of a sacred oath, defying those unspoken rules can be a deadly proposition. After fifteen years of growing up in the Ozark hills...

read more

Crimespree Reviews Ken Burns Country Music

Posted by on Oct 2, 2019 in Features, Recommended | 0 comments

Crimespree Reviews Ken Burns Country Music

Charlie Pride and Johnny Cash The first Ken Burns movie/documentary I saw was Prohibition. It was so well done, I enjoyed it thoroughly and I watched it twice back to back. I had heard of some of hi others and I proceeded to seek them out and bought them all. And I love them all. His depth of research is amazing. They take subjects that are pure America and find tidbits that are little known or maybe even unknown. I thought I knew a lot about Jazz but after the first viewing I felt I had just taken a master class. Same with the Baseball...

read more

INTERVIEW WITH IRENE HANNON

Posted by on Oct 1, 2019 in Books, Features, Interviews | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH IRENE HANNON

Dark Ambitions (Code of Honor Book 3) Irene Hannon Revell Pub October 1st, 2019 Dark Ambitions by Irene Hannon has action, mystery, suspense, and some romance.  Politics, money, and greed come together to show how power can corrupt. This finale in the series brings back a secondary character from the previous books and introduces a new one. The book begins with former army captain Rick Jordan finding at his camp for foster children, in rural Missouri, some blood in the snow.  Investigating further he recognizes a good luck charm of his...

read more

INTERVIEW WITH KYLE MILLS

Posted by on Sep 28, 2019 in Books, Features, Interviews | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH KYLE MILLS

Vince Flynn’s LETHAL AGENT by Kyle Mills harkens back to earlier Mitch Rapp books. Although fans miss Vince Flynn, having Mills continue the Mitch Rapp series has made the passing much easier as his writing style does not stray very far. This story is classic Mitch Rapp, putting him in a hostile environment, having to face off against the Islamic terrorists and corrupt Washington politicians, along with those who have no loyalty, no gratitude, and no courage to defend the CIA as others try to throw them under the bus. The only part where this...

read more

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: ELIZABETH HAND’S CURIOUS TOYS

Posted by on Sep 27, 2019 in Giveaway | 1 comment

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY: ELIZABETH HAND’S CURIOUS TOYS

Enter via the email below for a chance to win! CURIOUS TOYS by Elizabeth Hand An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in “this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike.” (Sarah McCarry) In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble. Unbeknownst to the well-heeled...

read more

INTERVIEW WITH LYNN H. BLACKBURN

Posted by on Sep 22, 2019 in Books, Features, Interviews | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH LYNN H. BLACKBURN

One Final Breath (Dive Team Investigations Book 3) Lynn H. Blackburn Revell Pub. Sept 3rd, 2019 One Final Breath by Lynn H. Blackburn is the last in the Carrington County, North Carolina Sheriff’s Department Dive Team series. Fans of these books will enjoy this action-packed, suspenseful, romantic read, but will also feel a bit melancholy since these characters will be put out to sea as this nail-biting series ends. The plot begins with a gunshot.  A teenager has been discovered murdered as he and his friend are swimming near a...

read more

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY IS CORNBREAD MAFIA: THE OUTLAWS OF CENTRAL KENTUCKY by JOE KEITH BICKETT

Posted by on Sep 20, 2019 in Giveaway | 0 comments

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY IS CORNBREAD MAFIA: THE OUTLAWS OF CENTRAL KENTUCKY by JOE KEITH BICKETT

Enter via the email below for a chance to win! CORNBREAD MAFIA: THE OUTLAWS OF CENTRAL KENTUCKY by Joe Keith Bickett CORNBREAD MAFIA: The Outlaws of Central Kentucky is author Joe Keith Bickett’s sequel to his first book, THE ORIGINS OF THE CORNBREAD MAFIA, A Memoir of Sorts.  As the 1980s come onto the scene, the Cornbread Mafia is faced with new obstacles from the Federal Government in order to keep their marijuana business flourishing. President Ronald Regan declares his “War on Drugs” and with it comes the Comprehensive Crime Control...

read more