Share This

Blog

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 65

Posted by on Apr 21, 2017 in News | 3 comments

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 65

Crimespree issue 65 featuring Nick Petrie   Our next issue is ready,Nick Petrie is on the cover .  Kristi Belcamino and Chris Holm are back with new columns. There are lots of interviews and great articles.   If you need to subscribe or renew information is RIGHT HERE  ...

read more

Nelson Demille’s THE CUBAN AFFAIR Reviewed

Posted by on Sep 25, 2017 in Reviews | 0 comments

Nelson Demille’s THE CUBAN AFFAIR Reviewed

The Cuban Affair Nelson DeMille Simon & Schuster September 19, 2017 It has been over two years between Nelson DeMille books, which is way too long. His latest, The Cuban Affair, is classic DeMille with its action packed story, fact based plot, witty characters, and humorous dialogue. In this, DeMille’s twentieth novel, he has Daniel (Mac) MacCormick adjusting to civilian life. After serving two tours in Afghanistan he has sought out a more peaceful lifestyle in Key West Florida. He is now a charter boat captain of a 42 feet deep-sea...

read more

Nelson Demille talks about THE CUBAN AFFAIR

Posted by on Sep 19, 2017 in Interviews | 2 comments

Nelson Demille talks about THE CUBAN AFFAIR

The Cuban Affair Nelson DeMille Simon & Schuster September 19, 2017 The Cuban Affair, Nelson DeMille’s twentieth novel, has the newly created character Daniel (Mac) MacCormick adjusting to civilian life. After serving two tours in Afghanistan he has sought out a more peaceful lifestyle in Key West Florida. He is now a charter boat captain of a 42 feet deep-sea fishing vessel, The Maine, which takes tourists and fisherman on excursions. Having made a name for himself and needing his military skills, three Cuban-Americans make him an offer...

read more

Cheryl Reed’s POISON GIRLS is this week’s giveaway

Posted by on Sep 15, 2017 in Giveaway | 0 comments

Cheryl Reed’s POISON GIRLS is this week’s giveaway

  This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of POISON GIRLS by Cheryl Reed “A gritty story of a Chicago reporter’s infiltration of the city’s toughest neighborhoods during a heroin epidemic, written by a great new voice in crime fiction. Noir fans and readers of Laura Lippman will love Poison Girls.”  ―Jamie Freveletti, internationally bestselling author of Dead Asleep It’s the summer of 2008. Chicago’s Hyde Park Senator is running for the White House, the city is vying to host the 2016 Summer...

read more

IT Review

Posted by on Sep 14, 2017 in Films | 0 comments

IT Review

  IT Director: Andy Muschietti Writer: Gary Dauberman, et al.   THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS     IT stays true to the spirit of the original Stephen King novel. I’ve loved King since I was seventeen years old.  IT was one of at least ten King novels I read during my senior year of high school.  When I say that IT stays true to the source material, that’s the highest praise I can give. Not all of the scenes from the book occur in the same way.  The scares are different, the monsters are different, and the time period is different.  But the...

read more

Marcia Clark’s SNAP JUDGEMENT Reviewed

Posted by on Sep 13, 2017 in Books, Reviews | 1 comment

Marcia Clark’s SNAP JUDGEMENT Reviewed

Snap Judgment Marcia Clark Samantha Brinkman Book 3 Thomas & Mercer August 29th, 2017 Snap Judgment by Marcia Clark is another winner. With each installment her books get better and better as she blends a riveting story with legal nuances. In this book she manages to cover a multitude of subjects from revenge porn to child sexual abuse to human trafficking. Clark spoke about the increase in revenge porn and how it “is becoming a common way for “exes” to smack the people who reject them. When I was working I dealt with people like that....

read more

J.A. Jance’s PROOF OF LIFE Reviewed

Posted by on Sep 11, 2017 in Books, Reviews | 0 comments

J.A. Jance’s PROOF OF LIFE Reviewed

Proof Of Life Book 23 of J. P. Beaumont Series J.A.Jance William Morrow Pub Sept 5th, 2017 Proof Of Life by J. A. Jance brings back retired detective J. P. Beaumont. The difference between these novels and the other series Jance writes is that these blend sarcastic humor within the mystery. Now retired Beaumont (Beau) searches for something to keep him busy. But thanks to his longtime nemesis Seattle crime reporter Maxwell Cole, Beau becomes entangled in an investigation. It seems Cole put in his will that Beau should scrutinize his death....

read more

THE DOWNSIDE By Mike Cooper Reviewed

Posted by on Sep 11, 2017 in Books, Reviews | 0 comments

THE DOWNSIDE By Mike Cooper Reviewed

Mysterious Press September 5, 2017   In the 21st century, we are used to thinking of theft as mainly a cybercrimes issue. Credit card numbers, social security numbers… these are the kinds of data most at risk today. But there is still a place for the old school thief. The thief that takes physical THINGS, not just data. And sometimes, those things are really big. And really, really heavy. Finn is that thief. A career criminal who just got out of prison after spending seven years locked away after a failed train robbery in New Mexico,...

read more

This Day In Crime: THE WIRE

Posted by on Sep 4, 2017 in Features | 0 comments

This Day In Crime: THE WIRE

On this day in 2002, HBO debuted a new series called THE WIRE. The series came from David Simon and tackled the drug trade in Baltimore. Unlike most network shows, THE WIRE made no attempt to portray the drug war in terms of black and white, but delivered a hard, clear look at the war on drugs, with burnt out, drunken cops and 15 year olds selling drugs to pay their rent. The show went on for five seasons. In my opinion, THE WIRE is the best drama in the history of television. I concede that some will disagree with me, but I suspect that...

read more

Vince Flynn’s ENEMY OF THE STATE Reviewed

Posted by on Sep 4, 2017 in Reviews | 0 comments

Vince Flynn’s ENEMY OF THE STATE Reviewed

Vince Flynn’s Enemy Of The State Mitch Rapp book # 16 Kyle Mills Atria/ Emily Bestler Books Pub. Sept 5th, 2017   With Enemy Of The State Kyle Mills has found his groove as he nailed down the characters created by Vince Flynn. As other thriller authors pivoted away from terrorism, Mitch Rapp, Dr. Irene Kennedy, and company continue to keep America safe by thwarting Islamic jihadists. As in The Third Option, this plot has Mitch Rapp going somewhat rogue after being asked by the President to perform a mission that is completely off the...

read more

Nicci French’s DARK SATURDAY is this week’s giveway

Posted by on Sep 1, 2017 in Giveaway | 1 comment

Nicci French’s DARK SATURDAY is this week’s giveway

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of DARK SATURDAY by Nicci French One of the world’s most acclaimed suspense writers—husband-and-wife team Nicci French—deliver a compelling story of old sins and fresh blood—a riveting thriller perfect for fans of Gilly Macmillan, Jane Shemilt, and Fiona Barton She hadn’t realized the stabbing was happening, even though it was with her own knife. She’d stolen it and kept it beneath her mattress and brought it with her, tucked in her waistband. But it has all gone...

read more