Share This

Blog

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

Posted by on Mar 5, 2018 in News | Comments Off on CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

CRIMESPREE ISSUE 67

Crimespree issue 67 featuring Bill Crider, Mickey Spillane   In our next issue we’ve got Bill Crider on the cover, we celebrate Mickey Spillane’s 100th birthday and two articles from Eryk Pruit along with our regular features.   If you need to subscribe or renew information is RIGHT HERE    

read more

BEHIND THE BOOK: G.A. McKevett

Posted by on Apr 25, 2019 in Behind The Book | 0 comments

BEHIND THE BOOK: G.A. McKevett

When people ask me, “What’s the best part of being an author?” numerous answers come to mind. Getting that initial phone call from an editor with an offer of publication. Seeing your book in a store for the first time. Receiving a lovely letter from a fan, telling you how your book got them through a terrible period of their life. But for me, a list of “bests” has to include–teaching writing to those who dream of becoming an author. It was fun, exciting, satisfying, and some of my students became dear,...

read more

REVIEW OF WOLF PACK

Posted by on Apr 22, 2019 in Books, Features, Reviews | 0 comments

REVIEW OF WOLF PACK

Edgar-winner C.J. Box maintains his platinum level of excellence in WOLF PACK, his 19th novel starring Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett (after 2018’s THE DISAPPEARED). When fellow game warden Katelyn Hamm observes a herd of elk being stampeded by a drone, she enlists Joe’s aid in tracking down the owner. The perp turns out to be Bill Hill, a recent arrivee from the East who lives with several bodyguards in a state of the art compound. After Hill scoffs at Joe’s threat of a fine for tormenting the elk, Joe tries to research...

read more

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY – Denise Mina’s CONVICTION

Posted by on Apr 19, 2019 in Giveaway | 0 comments

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY – Denise Mina’s CONVICTION

CONVICTION by Denise Mina The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a housewife’s present life on a collision course with her secret past. The day Anna McDonald’s quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before: Packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast. Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone. Reeling, desperate for...

read more

MURDER-A-GO-GO’S: CRIME FICTION INSPIRED BY THE MUSIC OF THE GO-GO’S

Posted by on Apr 18, 2019 in Books, Reviews | 0 comments

MURDER-A-GO-GO’S: CRIME FICTION INSPIRED BY THE MUSIC OF THE GO-GO’S

Down and Out Books March 23d, 2019 Edited by Holly West The short story can be one of the most enjoyable storytelling vehicles for any genre. Add a little violence here, a little revenge there, and you have a crime story that can fit comfortably into any genre. That’s the beauty of crime fiction: by changing the set design, a crime story can take a reader into any type of story they like. As much fun as short stories are to read, outlets for this kind of writing have been slowly disappearing in recent years. This is a real shame, since short...

read more

Interview of Ian Rankin by Paul Johnston – video

Posted by on Apr 17, 2019 in Interviews | 0 comments

Interview of Ian Rankin by Paul Johnston – video

From the Memorial Event, featuring Ian Rankin that took place on March 26th, Ian and the ever lovely Dr Paul Johnston, himself a crime novelist. Mr Johnston has a new Quint book (IMPOLITIC CORPSES) out this August from Severn House. Mr Johnston and Mr Rankin have both been featured as cover-boys for Crimespree Magazine. We heartily recommend them both for both reading and conversation. Although it is best to avoid asking Mr Johnston, “What is noir?” The widely adored Paul...

read more

AT LONG LAST, THE GIVEAWAY LINK! DECEPTION COVE!

Posted by on Apr 17, 2019 in Giveaway | 2 comments

AT LONG LAST, THE GIVEAWAY LINK! DECEPTION COVE!

DECEPTION COVE by Owen Laukkanen For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, an “intimate and cinematic” thriller* about an ex-Marine, and ex-convict, and a rescue dog caught in the crosshairs of a ruthless gang in remote Washington state. Former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life a new widow, with little more to her name than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a loyal dog named Lucy. The only thing she actually cares about is that dog, a black-and-white pit bull mix who helps her cope with the...

read more

INTERVIEW WITH LINDA FAIRSTEIN

Posted by on Apr 17, 2019 in Books, Character Interviews, Features | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH LINDA FAIRSTEIN

Blood Oath (Alexandra Cooper Book) Linda Fairstein Dutton Pub. March 27th, 2019 Blood Oath by Linda Fairstein has Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper returning to work after taking a hiatus to recover from double personal traumas.  She has no time to ease back into a routine because she is presented with a very formidable case. As the chief of the Special Victims Bureau Alexandra (Alex) oversees and prosecutes sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and related murder cases. After returning to work she is presented with a case by a...

read more

INTERVIEW WITH LAURA GRIFFIN

Posted by on Apr 12, 2019 in Books, Features, Interviews | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH LAURA GRIFFIN

Stone Cold Heart (Tracer book 13) Laura Griffin Pocket Books Pub March 26th, 2019 Stone Cold Heart by Laura Griffin brings suspense to the forefront, sprinkled with some romance. The Tracer series shows the different aspects of CSI investigators, where each book highlights the approach to solving a crime. Sara Lockhart is a forensic anthropologist with the Delphi Crime Center in Texas. She is called in after human bones are found in a park by police detective Nolan Hess. He wonders if these are the bones of a local teenage climber who...

read more

INTERVIEW WITH IRIS JOHANSEN

Posted by on Apr 8, 2019 in Books, Features, Interviews | 0 comments

INTERVIEW WITH IRIS JOHANSEN

DARK TRIBUTE by Iris Johansen shows why she is such an amazing author.  The story has a riveting plot, very likeable protagonists, and a completely evil antagonist.  Fans of Johansen finally get their wish. This book highlights Cara Delaney, whose guardians are forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and Atlanta Police Detective Joe Quinn. Now as a grown woman she desires to pursue her love of playing the violin with her love of longtime friend, Jock Gavin. He was solely her protector when Cara was younger, but throughout the years the bond between them...

read more

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY by Linda Fairstein!

Posted by on Apr 5, 2019 in Giveaway | 2 comments

THIS WEEK’S GIVEAWAY by Linda Fairstein!

BLOOD OATH by Linda Fairstein  New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein explores the depths of Manhattan’s secretive Rockefeller University in this timely, captivating thriller about the deep–and often deadly–reverberations of past sins. Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper of the Manhattan Sex Crimes Unit is finally back at work following a leave of absence, and not a moment too soon. With more women feeling empowered to name their abusers, Alex is eager to return to the courtroom to do what she does best. But...

read more