Share This

Blog

Wrestling Inspires The HARDWAY

Posted by on Feb 16, 2017 in Books, Essay | 0 comments

Wrestling Inspires The HARDWAY

Let’s get this out of the way—yes, I know pro wrestling is fake. Get a few wrestling fans in the same room and they’ll inevitably share the moment of when they first realized this.  They noticed how the punches being thrown rarely connected, or spotted a heel and babyface (wrestling parlance for bad and good guy) eating together at some diner, when just hours before they were swearing to do violent and unnatural things to each other. But I don’t have a story like that. Much like Spencer, the main character of my novella, Hardway, I always...

read more

THE TUNNEL Complete First Season

Posted by on Feb 15, 2017 in Home Entertainment | 0 comments

THE TUNNEL  Complete First Season

THE TUNNEL The Complete First Season PBS I’ve reached the point where any thing on PBS that has a mystery is going to be on my list of things to watch. Life threw me a couple hiccups so it took a little longer to get to this than I would have liked, but I sat down and did the whole thing in one marathon viewing. WOW. We open on a crime scene in the tunnel connecting France and England, a body is found perfectly centered on the border. The French have the case and a Brit copper shows up after they received a courtesy call. Things change from a...

read more

Special Offer for February

Posted by on Feb 14, 2017 in Subscription | 0 comments

Special Offer for February

We love crime fiction and we love our readers.  In honor of Valentines day we’re offering a special deal. Subscribe or renew a subscription to Crimespree by the end of the month and get EIGHT issues instead of six. You can do that right here:...

read more

Diving Into The Deep End: Finding A Place In The Crime Fiction Family

Posted by on Feb 12, 2017 in Essay | 2 comments

Diving Into The Deep End: Finding A Place In The Crime Fiction Family

What’s my part of the Crime Fiction Community? It’s a question all writers must ask themselves. It’s less to do with the “brand” of a writer or the genre you choose to write in, and more about deciding how you want to be a part of the group. I said early on my only goal was to be a part of the conversation. I didn’t go into writing with grandiose ideas of being a best seller, or of winning awards or accolades. All I wanted was to be included in the world I admired and to have my work respected as an equal. Since I kicked off my shoes and...

read more

Review of Deborah Crombie’s GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS

Posted by on Feb 11, 2017 in Books, Reviews | 0 comments

Review of Deborah Crombie’s GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS

GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS  Book 16 Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novel Deborah Crombie Feb. 7th, 2017 William Morrow Readers had to wait two years for the latest Deborah Crombie book, GARDEN OF LAMENTATIONS, but it was well worth it. This plot follows the unanswered questions from Crombie’s last novel, DWELL IN DARKNESS. People might remember how Detective Superintendent Duncan Kincaid had not solved the loose ends in the last novel. He is still troubled by a grenade attack, a devastating fire, and the odd behavior of his boss, Chief Superintendent...

read more

Review of Heather Graham’s LAW AND DISORDER

Posted by on Feb 10, 2017 in Books, Reviews | 0 comments

Review of Heather Graham’s LAW AND DISORDER

LAW AND DISORDER Heather Graham Harlequin Pub January 17, 2017 LAW AND DISORDER by Heather Graham is a mystery set in Florida. It blends suspense, romance, and action. What make this book standout are the clues spread throughout the story so that the reader can try to find the buried treasure along with the characters. For those fans of the actress who starred in Austin Powers this is not her. The story begins with the kidnapping by a group of thugs of a well-to-do Floridian, Kody Cameron. She is taken to a historical house and becomes a...

read more

Tim Dorsey’s CLOWNFISH BLUES is featured in this week’s giveaway

Posted by on Feb 10, 2017 in Giveaway | 0 comments

Tim Dorsey’s CLOWNFISH BLUES is featured in this week’s giveaway

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are  offering up the chance to win a copy of CLOWNFISH BLUES by Tim Dorsey CLOWNFISH BLUES A (Serge A.) Storm is brewing for a cabal of bad guys gaming the Florida state lottery in this insanely funny novel from the maestro of mayhem, Tim Dorsey If you’re loud and proud Floridian Serge A. Storms, how do you follow up your very own remake of Easy Rider? You shoot your own “episodes” of your favorite classic television show, Route 66! With Coleman riding shotgun, Serge is rolling down the...

read more

IACW Hammett Prize 2016 nominees

Posted by on Feb 9, 2017 in Awards | 0 comments

IACW Hammett Prize 2016 nominees

The International Association of Crime Writers have announced the nominees for the 2016 Hammett Award. THE SECOND LIFE OF NICK MASON by Steve Hamilton (Putnam) THE DRIFTER by Nicholas Petrie (Putnam) THE WHITE DEVIL by Domenic Stansberry (Molotov Editions) REVOLVER by Duane Swierczynki (Mulholland) THE BIG NOTHING by Bob Truluck (Murmur...

read more

Seth Margolis’ PRESIDENTS DAY is featured in this week’s giveaway

Posted by on Feb 3, 2017 in Giveaway | 0 comments

Seth Margolis’ PRESIDENTS DAY is featured in this week’s giveaway

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are  offering up the chance to win a copy of  ALL OUR WRONG TODAYS by Elan Mastai For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from the bestselling author of Losing Isaiah. In this twisting, ferocious novel of suspense, the presidential race has a number of men all clawing to get to the top. Each man has a locked closet of secrets. And one man holds every key. Julian Mellow has spent his life amassing a fortune out of low-risk / high-reward...

read more

Review of SILVER CITY

Posted by on Feb 3, 2017 in Books, Reviews | 0 comments

Review of SILVER CITY

SILVER CITY: A Cash McLendon Novel book 3 Jeff Guinn January 2017 G.P. Putnam Sons SILVER CITY by Jeff Guinn is a fascinating historical western that blends action and adventure with factual information. He is not a stranger to westerns, having written two other novels in this series and a non-fiction book about the shootout at the O.K. Corral. In this story revenge and vengeance take center stage. Readers might remember that the male lead, Cash McLendon is on the run, as he tries to hide from a murderous thug, Killer Boots. His former...

read more
468 ad