Share This

Blog

This Day In Crime: THE WIRE

Posted by on Sep 4, 2017 in Features | 0 comments

This Day In Crime: THE WIRE

On this day in 2002, HBO debuted a new series called THE WIRE. The series came from David Simon and tackled the drug trade in Baltimore. Unlike most network shows, THE WIRE made no attempt to portray the drug war in terms of black and white, but delivered a hard, clear look at the war on drugs, with burnt out, drunken cops and 15 year olds selling drugs to pay their rent. The show went on for five seasons. In my opinion, THE WIRE is the best drama in the history of television. I concede that some will disagree with me, but I suspect that...

read more

Vince Flynn’s ENEMY OF THE STATE Reviewed

Posted by on Sep 4, 2017 in Reviews | 0 comments

Vince Flynn’s ENEMY OF THE STATE Reviewed

Vince Flynn’s Enemy Of The State Mitch Rapp book # 16 Kyle Mills Atria/ Emily Bestler Books Pub. Sept 5th, 2017   With Enemy Of The State Kyle Mills has found his groove as he nailed down the characters created by Vince Flynn. As other thriller authors pivoted away from terrorism, Mitch Rapp, Dr. Irene Kennedy, and company continue to keep America safe by thwarting Islamic jihadists. As in The Third Option, this plot has Mitch Rapp going somewhat rogue after being asked by the President to perform a mission that is completely off the...

read more

Nicci French’s DARK SATURDAY is this week’s giveway

Posted by on Sep 1, 2017 in Giveaway | 1 comment

Nicci French’s DARK SATURDAY is this week’s giveway

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of DARK SATURDAY by Nicci French One of the world’s most acclaimed suspense writers—husband-and-wife team Nicci French—deliver a compelling story of old sins and fresh blood—a riveting thriller perfect for fans of Gilly Macmillan, Jane Shemilt, and Fiona Barton She hadn’t realized the stabbing was happening, even though it was with her own knife. She’d stolen it and kept it beneath her mattress and brought it with her, tucked in her waistband. But it has all gone...

read more

Andrew Gross’ THE SABOTEUR Reviewed

Posted by on Aug 29, 2017 in Reviews | 1 comment

Andrew Gross’ THE SABOTEUR Reviewed

The Saboteur  Minotaur Pub Aug 22nd, 2017 The One Man and The Saboteur, the latest books of Andrew Gross, are a departure from his usual writing genre. Instead of writing thrillers with storylines of criminal activity he has ventured into the historical novel field. Yet, his writing style has not completely changed with these two plots in that they both are thrilling and gripping. The characters must find solutions to their dilemma, and the stories affect the readers’ heart. The One Man, released last year with the paperback version coming...

read more

Lisa Scottoline talks about EXPOSED

Posted by on Aug 25, 2017 in Interviews | 0 comments

Lisa Scottoline talks about EXPOSED

Lisa Scottoline deserves a high five for her novels Damaged and Exposed. These back-to-back homeruns hit at reader’s heartstrings with her gripping and riveting storylines and characters. In Damaged, released last year with the paperback version out August 1st, a ten-year-old child, Patrick, has fallen under the radar of the government agencies. His needs are not being met regarding dyslexia, abuse in a public school by a teacher’s aide, and having to endure classmates’ bullying. Law partner Mary DiNunzio is hired to fend off a lawsuit...

read more

Peter Blauner’s PROVING GROUND is this week’s giveaway

Posted by on Aug 25, 2017 in Giveaway | 0 comments

Peter Blauner’s PROVING GROUND is this week’s giveaway

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of PROVING GROUND by Peter Blauner Edgar Award-winner Peter Blauner introduces New York police detective Lourdes Robles tracking the case of a murdered criminal defense attorney and his Iraq war veteran son.After ten years, Edgar Award-winner and New York Times bestseller Peter Blauner is back. After spending a decade writing for TV, Peter Blauner bursts back onto bookshelves with a quintessential New York City crime novel that is as much about family and second...

read more

Writer Types Podcast: Episode 8

Posted by on Aug 20, 2017 in Books | 0 comments

Writer Types Podcast: Episode 8

Writer Types Podcast: Episode 8 By S.W. Lauden and Eric Beetner “More author interviews! Longer author interviews!” We asked our listeners to take a quick survey and this was the overwhelming feedback we received. And we heard you loud and clear. Thanks to everybody who participated, your valuable feedback will help us make our crime and mystery podcast even better. We’ll also be tweaking a few segments in the coming months, and trying a couple of new ones—starting with Episode 8, which dropped this week. As always, please make sure to let us...

read more

Erin Kelly’s HE SAID/SHE SAID is featured in this week’s giveaway

Posted by on Aug 18, 2017 in Giveaway | 0 comments

Erin Kelly’s HE SAID/SHE SAID is featured in this week’s giveaway

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of HE SAID/SHE SAID by Erin Kelly On the eve of a solar eclipse, a couple forced into hiding discovers that they can no longer run from their past in this taut psychological suspense novel. In the summer of 1999, Kit and Laura travel to a festival in Cornwall to see a total eclipse of the sun. Kit is an eclipse chaser; Laura has never seen one before. Young and in love, they are certain this will be the first of many they’ll share. But in the hushed moments after...

read more

Q&A with C.J. Box for PARADISE VALLEY

Posted by on Aug 18, 2017 in Features, Interviews | 0 comments

Q&A with C.J. Box for PARADISE VALLEY

Michael Barson: While this is only the second novel to feature your serial killer the Lizard King as the lead villain, it also features characters who appeared in the two previous Cassie Newell thrillers. Did you conceive of this work as a trilogy from the beginning? CJ Box: Not really. I don’t work that far ahead. When the Lizard King and Cassie Dewell were introduced in THE HIGHWAY (and appeared again in BADLANDS) I wasn’t planning an epic concluding novel. Both of those books (as well as BACK OF BEYOND, the first of what has become known...

read more

Interview with Karin Slaughter

Posted by on Aug 18, 2017 in Features, Interviews | 0 comments

Interview with Karin Slaughter

THE GOOD DAUGHTER by Karin Slaughter bares no bones. This emotional crime mystery delves into family, grief, regret, and guilt. Known for not sugar coating the violence, Slaughter writes a dark and graphic story, but this only adds to the intensity. Twenty-eight years ago two sisters, Charlie and Sam, were at home with their mother, Gamma when two masked men entered the house. They shot Gamma dead, pushed out Sam’s eyelids, shot her in the head, and buried her alive, while Charlie ran for her life and endured her own horrific attack. Fast...

read more