Dagger Awards: The CWA announces four more Shortlists

The Crime Writers Association has announced the shortlists for four additional Daggers (  CWA Short Story Dagger, International Dagger, Non Fiction Dagger, Endeavour Historical Dagger and Debut Dagger) at CrimesFest 2015.

The International Dagger


  • Falling Freely, As If In A Dream by Leif GW Persson (tr Paul Norlen) – published by Transworld.
  • Camille by Pierre Lemaitre (tr Frank Wynne) – published by Quercus.
  • Cobra by Deon Meyer (tr K.L Seegers) – published by Hodder & Stoughton.
  • Arab Jazz by Karim Miské (tr Sam Gordon) – published by MacLehose Press.
  • The Invisible Guardian by Dolores Redondo (tr Isabelle Kaufeler) – published by HarperCollins.
  • Into a Raging Blaze by Andreas Norman (tr Ian Giles) – published by Quercus.


The Short Story Dagger

  • Apocrypha by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing – published by Mulholland Press
  • Red Eye by Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane – Face Off – published by Sphere
  • The Hunter by Dashiell Hammett – The Hunter & Other Stories – published by No Exit Press
  • Sweet Nothing by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing – published by Mulholland Press
  • Juror 8 by Stuart Neville – OxCrimes – published by Profile Books
  • The Dead Their Eyes Implore Us by George Pelecanos – OxCrimes – published by Profile Books


The Non Fiction Dagger

  • In Plain Sight: The Life and Lies of Jimmy Savile by Dan Davies – published by Quercus
  • A Kim Jong-Il Production by Paul Fischer – published by Penguin
  • Ghettoside: Investigating a Homicide Epidemic by Jill Leovy – published by Bodley Head
  • Gun Baby Gun: A Bloody Journey into the World of the Gun by Iain Overton – published by Canongate
  • One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway by Ǻsne Seierstad – published by Virago
  • Just Mercy: a story of justice and redemption by Bryan Stevenson – published by Scribe


The Endeavour Historical Dagger – sponsored by Endeavour Press Ltd

  • Havana Sleeping by Martin Davies – published by Hodder & Stoughton
  • Lamentation by C. J. Sansom – published by Mantle
  • The Man from Berlin by Luke McCallin – published by No Exit Press
  • The Seeker by S. G. MacLean – published by Quercus
  • The Silent Boy by Andrew Taylor – published by Harper Collins
  • The Taxidermist’s Daughter by Kate Mosse – published by Orion


The Debut Dagger – sponsored by Orion

  • Dark Chapter by Winnie M Li
  • Last Of The Soho Legends by Greg Keen
  • The Ice Coffin by Jill Sawyer
  • The Pure Drop by Nigel Robbins
  • Lock Me In by Kate Simants

The CWA Dagger Awards will be presented on 30th June, to mark the end of Crime Reading Month, at a gala dinner in central London.