Denise Mina wins second straight Theakstons Old Peculier Award.

For the second year in a row, Denise Mina won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. She won for GODS AND BEASTS (Orion).

‘I’m really quite flabbergasted.,” Denise said  “I really love this book and it means a lot that other people appreciate it. I’m so delighted and so glad to have another gigantic, ostentatious award in the shape of a Theakstons beer barrel that I don’t have room for on my mantelpiece.’

Others on the Short List:
RUSH OF BLOOD, by Mark Billingham (Little, Brown)
SAFE HOUSE, by Chris Ewan (Faber and Faber)
THE LEWIS MAN, by Peter May (Quercus)
STOLEN SOULS, by Stuart Neville (Vintage)
A DARK REDEMPTION, by Stav Sherez (Faber and Faber)