Don Winslow to be Presented The Raymond Chandler Award at The Courmayeur Noir Festival

The Courmayeur Noir Festival has announced that Don Winslow will be awarded The Raymond Chandler Award. Previous recipients of the award include Elmore Leonard, Andrew Vachss , John Grisham,  Michael Connelly and John le Carré.

“I have always been convinced that there is a strong interplay between noir and cinema – said Winslow – and personally I think that my writing has been heavily influenced by the big screen, because unconsciously I grew up with the films, because they are consciously been contaminated by the work of directors like Truffaut, Fellini and Woo. Films like eight and a half and La Stradaencouraged me to take risks with the creative structure of my novels, especially The beasts (Italian title of SAVAGES). “ 

The Festival runs from December 10th through the 16th and Winslow will be presented the award at that time. Winslow had previously been a festival judge in 2008.