Finalists for 2012 Harper Lee award for Legal Novel of the Year

A hat tip goes to Pat and Gary of Once Upon A Crime for pointing this  out. I had not heard of this award before.

The Harper Lee Award to the Legal Novel of the Year is sponsored by the ABA Journal and the University of Alabama Law School and is award to the  “book-length work of fiction published in the preceding year that best exemplifies the role of lawyers in society.”

THE FIFTH WITNESS by Michael Connelly
MURDER ONE by Robert Dugoni
BREACH OF TRUST by David Ellis

This year’s selection committee:
New York Times best-selling novelist Linda Fairstein
Former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice
New York Times best-selling novelist Lisa Scottoline
NPR legal affairs correspondent Nina Totenberg
Fox News political analyst Juan Williams

The award will be announced in August and will be presented on September 20, 2012, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., in conjunction with the National Book Festival. In addition, the winner will be featured in the ABA Journal and honored with a special edition of To Kill A Mockingbird, signed by Harper Lee.