Mystery Writers of America pick Dexter, Michael Clayton for Edgars.

The Mystery Writers of America handed out the Edgar awards on Saturday night.

I will provide a link for all of the winners, but want to talk about the two that are related to this site: Best Teleplay for Series Episode and Best Film Screenplay.

Matt Nix picked up the Best Teleplay for Series episode Edgar for the pilot script for Burn Notice. Nix beat out
“It’s Alive” from Dexter (Showtime), Teleplay by Daniel Cerone
“Yahrzeit” from Waking the Dead (BBC), Teleplay by Declan Croghan
“Pie-Lette” from Pushing Daisies (ABC), Teleplay by Bryan Fuller
“Senseless” from Law & Order: Criminal Intent (NBC), Story by Warren Leight & Siobhan Byrne O’Connor, Teleplay by Julie Martin & Siobhan Byrne O’Connor

A very impressive win considering the level of quality of the competition. Congtats to Nix.

Best Film Screenplay:
Writer/Director Tony Gilroy snags it for Michael Clayton. Gilroy beat out
Eastern Promises, Screenplay by Steven Knight
The Lookout, Screenplay by Scott Frank
No Country for Old Men, Screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, based on the book by Cormac McCarthy
Zodiac, Screenplay by James Vanderbilt, based on the book by Robert Graysmith

Gilroy has previously written for the Bourne films, while I enjoyed them, I had no clue that he was capable of something this good. If Clayton is any indication, Gilroy will be a creative force to be reckoned with in Hollywood.

Congrats to not only Gilroy and Nix, but all of the winners and nominees in each catagory.

Read all of the winners and nominees.