Nominees for 2016 Thriller Awards

The International Thriller Writers have announced the nominees for the 2016 Thriller Awards.

Best Hardcover Novel:
THE FIFTH GOSPEL, by Ian Caldwell (Simon & Schuster)
PLAYING WITH FIRE, by Tess Gerritsen (Ballantine)
THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, by Paula Hawkins (Riverhead)
INSPECTOR OF THE DEAD, by David Morrell (Mulholland)
Pretty Girls, by Karin Slaughter (Morrow)

Best First Novel:
LITTLE BLACK LIES, by Sandra Block (Grand Central)
THE DROWNING GAME, by L.S. Hawker (Witness Impulse)
WHAT SHE KNEW, by Gilly Macmillan (Morrow)
BULL MOUNTAIN, by Brian Panowich (Putnam)
THE GATES OF EVANGELINE, by Hester Young (Putnam)

Best Paperback Original Novel:
DAY ZERO, by Marc Cameron (Pinnacle)
AGAINST ALL ENEMIES, by John Gilstrap (Pinnacle)
NAME OF THE DEVIL, by Andrew Mayne (Bourbon Street)
THE ANGEL OF EDEN, by D.J. McIntosh (Penguin Canada)
POCKETS OF DARKNESS, by Jean Rabe (WordFire Press)

Best Short Story:
“Feeding the Crocodile,” by Reed Farrel Coleman (from Jewish Noir, edited by Kenneth Wishnia; PM Press)
“Repressed,” Jeffery Deaver (from Killer Nashville Noir: Cold Blooded, edited by Clay Stafford; Diversion)
“The Water Was Rising,” by Sharon Hunt (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], August 2015)
“El Cambalache,” by Terrence McCauley (ThugLit 17, edited by Todd Robinson; ThugLit)
“Gun Accident: An Investigation,” by Joyce Carol Oates
(EQMM, July 2015)

Best Young Adult Novel:
CODE OF HONOR, by Alan Gratz (Scholastic Press)
THE FORGETTING, by Nicole Maggi (Sourcebooks Fire)
PRETENDING TO BE ERICA, by Michelle Painchaud (Viking Books for
Young Readers)
HALF IN LOVE WITH DEATH, by Emily Ross (Merit Press)
THE DOGS, by Allan Stratton (Sourcebooks Fire)

Best E-book Original Novel:
JACK AND JOE, by Diane Capri (AugustBooks)
THE PRISONER’S GOLD, by Chris Kuzneski (Chris Kuzneski)
DEADLY LULLABY, by Robert McClure (Alibi)
IVORY GHOSTS, by Caitlin O’Connell (Alibi)
LIE IN WAIT, by Eric Rickstad (Witness Impulse)

This year’s award winners will be announced at the ThrillerFest XI convention, held in New York City, from July 5 to 9.