Charles Todd’s A CASUALTY OF WAR is this week’s giveaway Oct06

Charles Todd’s A CASUALTY OF WAR is this wee...

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of A CASUALTY OF WAR by Charles Todd From New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd comes a haunting tale that explores the impact of World War I on all who witnessed it—officers, soldiers, doctors, and battlefield nurses like Bess Crawford Though the Great War is nearing its end, the fighting rages on. While waiting for transport back to her post, battlefield nurse Bess Crawford meets Captain Alan Travis from the island of Barbados. Later, when he’s brought into her forward aid station disoriented from a head wound, Bess is alarmed that he believes his...

Review of Archie Volume 4

ARCHIE Volume 4 Pete Wood and Jack Morelli, Illustrator Mark Waid, Writer The Archie Comic Publications has produced another volume of their flagship and namesake, ARCHIE. It is now time to see how the return of Veronica will turn out. Another 5 issues of RIVERDALE comes within this volume. Also stored in the back is the first issue of the Archies, Archies own band. Veronica has now completed her round trip back to Riverdale from Switzerland. Time has not been kind to Archie’s relationship with her. They are a little bit awkward towards each other now. The happy magic is gone and things are a little closer to earth. They don’t even know how...

Review of Robert B. Parker’s THE HANGMAN’S SONNET...

Robert B. Parker’s THE HANGMAN’S SONNET Jesse Stone Book 16 Reed Coleman Sept 12th, 2017 G. P. Putnam’s Sons Robert B. Parker’s THE HANGMAN’S SONNET by Reed Coleman brilliantly intertwines the personal and professional life of Paradise police chief Jesse Stone. Having put Jesse through the ringer in the previous book, DEBT TO PAY, Coleman explores the emotions of guilt and grief in this novel. Jesse is still trying to come to grips after seeing his fiancée, Diana, murdered by the crazed assassin Mr. Peepers. Unfortunately, he turns to the only friend that can drown out his sorrows, drinking. An interesting question put forth to the readers,...

The Continuing Fabulousness of Miss Fisher

If you do not already know of her meet Phryne Fisher, the 1920’s detective that took Australia by storm. She came on the scene in 2006, the fabulous character of author Kerry Greenwood. Made into a TV series by Deb Cox and Fiona Eagger in 2012, it aired for three seasons and can now be seen on Netflix. Those who enjoy the show and books might get more of Phyrne since the creators are hoping for feature films. Also, this year the publisher, Poisoned Pen Press, released an anthology, Bound By Mystery, celebrating its twenty years, with an installment by Greenwood featuring Phyrne entitled, Taking The Waters. As with all the books and TV shows...

Interview with Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen’s new Department Q novel, THE SCARRED WOMAN, is available now. Jussi took time from his busy schedule to answer some questions for us… American readers have embraced your novels enthusiastically. Why do you think they connect so strongly with readers around the world? Do you think we all have a secret dark side? I use good and evil to emphasize the contrast. For example, a thriller can have an opening scene where everything breathes peace. We might see a young couple in love out on a picnic in idyllic scenery. It would have an extra powerful effect if this picture is destroyed by violence and seriousness. The...

Jussi Adler-Olsen’s THE SCARRED WOMAN is this week’s giveaway Sep29

Jussi Adler-Olsen’s THE SCARRED WOMAN is thi...

This week,  CrimeSpree and  Friday Reads Facebook page, are giving away copies of THE SCARRED WOMAN by Jussi Adler-Olsen The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson. Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen’s cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder. In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved...

Q&A with Steve Havill, Easy Errors

1) While EASY ERRORS is the 22nd in the Posadas County series, which you launched in 1991, it’s also the first in the series–chronologically. What gave you the idea to place this book back in 1986, before the official start of the series? This is the wonderful thing about loyal readers. The first prequel I did, telling the story of Estelle Reyes-Guzman’s first day on the job, ONE PERFECT SHOT, was written by request. Folks enjoyed that, and one of my readers said, “Hey…I’d like to read about Bobby Torrez’s first days on the job. So EASY ERRORS came to be. 2) Many authors claim to be unable to answer...

Nelson Demille’s THE CUBAN AFFAIR Reviewed Sep25

Nelson Demille’s THE CUBAN AFFAIR Reviewed

The Cuban Affair Nelson DeMille Simon & Schuster September 19, 2017 It has been over two years between Nelson DeMille books, which is way too long. His latest, The Cuban Affair, is classic DeMille with its action packed story, fact based plot, witty characters, and humorous dialogue. In this, DeMille’s twentieth novel, he has Daniel (Mac) MacCormick adjusting to civilian life. After serving two tours in Afghanistan he has sought out a more peaceful lifestyle in Key West Florida. He is now a charter boat captain of a 42 feet deep-sea fishing vessel, The Maine, which takes tourists and fisherman on excursions. Having made a name for...