Scott Adlerberg and Taylor Stevens featured in this week’s Giveaway.

Hope everyone has had a great week. Crimespree magazine,  in conjunction with Friday Reads Facebook page,  is giving away copies of Taylor Stevens’s THE DOLL and Scott Adlerberg’s SPIDERS AND FLIES

SPIDERS AND FLIES by Scott Adlerberg

An American fugitive in Martinique recovering from a six hour marriage. A young woman who has a cat for a best friend. A wealthy couple who bicker so much they make solitary life seem irresistible and a yoga-practicing midget with lethal karate skills These are a few of the players at the heart of Spiders and Flies, the story of an abduction gone wrong. Set in the lush sun-drenched tropics, the novel captures the deepest fears and desires of the people drawn into the kidnapper’s web. A drama that unfolds with twisty suspense and dark humor, it sheds a skewed light on the notions of family ties, loyalty, deceit, and friendship.

“Scott Adlerberg is a terrific storyteller and Spiders and Flies belongs on your bookshelf.” -Jason Starr, Anthony Award-winning author of The Craving

“Adlerberg’s Paul Raven is that rare kind of character – a predatory schemer we nonetheless can’t help but identify with through the many twists and turns this story takes him on. The Martinique setting provides a palpable, sensuous, and vivid atmosphere, making it almost a character itself. I was totally immersed from start to finish.” -Larry Dark, Director of The Story Prize

Scott Adlerberg grew up just outside New York City. While doing his graduate work in Martinique, he came to see its lush beauty as the perfect sitting for a crime story, mingling beauty and terror. His previously published fiction includes THE HUNTING HEART, a story collection of dark fantasy. He lives in Brooklyn with his family, and he co-hosts the Word for Word Reel Talks film commentary series each summer at the HBO Bryant Park Summer Film Festival in Manhattan. SPIDEDRS AND FLIES is his first novel.

THE DOLL by Taylor Stevens

“A heroine every bit as provocative as Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander.” -The Dallas Morning News

Haunted by a life of violence and as proficient with languages as she is with knives, Vanessa Michael Munroe, chameleon and hunter, has built her life on a reputation for getting things done-dangerous and often not-quite-legal things. Born to missionary parents in lawless Africa, taken under the tutelage of gunrunners, and tortured by one of the jungle’s most brutal men, Munroe was forced to do whatever it took to stay alive.

The ability to survive, fight, adapt, and blend has since taken her across the globe on behalf of corporations, heads of state, and the few private clients who can afford her unique brand of expertise, and these abilities have made her enemies.

On a busy Dallas street, Munroe is kidnapped by an unseen opponent and thrust into an underground world where women and girls are merchandise and a shadowy figure known as The Doll Maker controls her every move. While trusted friends race to unravel where she is and why she was taken, everything pivots on one simple choice: Munroe must use her unique set of skills to deliver a high-profile young woman into the same nightmare that she once endured, or condemn to torture and certain death the one person she loves above all else.

Driven by the violence that has made her what she is, cut off from help, and with attempts to escape predicted and prevented, Munroe will hunt for openings, for solutions, and a way to strike back at a man who holds all the cards. Because only one thing is certain: she cannot save everyone.

In this high-octane thriller for fans of Lee Child, Stieg Larsson, and Robert Ludlum’s Bourne trilogy, Vanessa Michael Munroe will have to fight fast, smart and furiously to overcome a dangerous nemesis and deliver her trademark brand of justice.

Taylor Stevens is a critically praised New York Times bestselling author whose thrillers are published in 17 languages. Born into an apocalyptic religious cult, Stevens was raised in communes across the globe. Separated from her family at age twelve and denied an education beyond sixth grade, the majority of her adolescence was spent begging on city streets at the behest of cult leaders, or as a worker bee child, caring for younger commune children, washing laundry and cooking meals for hundreds at a time. In her twenties, Stevens broke free in order to follow hope and a vague idea of what possibilities lay beyond. She now lives in Texas, and juggles fulltime writing with fulltime motherhood.

To be entered in the drawing shoot an email over to Jon?@crimespreemag.com (remove the question mark) And put CONTEST in the subject line. Also please put your address in the body of the email

We will pick the winners on August 9th.

When we do the drawing we will be sending an extra something for one lucky winner to be picked from the comments section of the Friday Reads face book page, so after you enter, go leave a comment!