Shortlist for Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year announced

The powers that be have announced the shortlist for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. The award is brought to us by T&R Theakston Ltd, WHSmith, and Radio Times.

THE FACTS OF LIFE AND DEATH by Belinda Bauer, Transworld
THE AXEMAN’S JAZZ by Ray Celestin, Mantle/ Pan Macmillan
THE OUTCAST DEAD by Elly Griffiths, Quercus
SOMEONE ELSE’S SKIN by Sarah Hilary, Headline
THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA by Antonia Hodgson, Hodder & Stoughton
ENTRY ISLAND by Peter May, Quercus

The  winner will be decided by the panel of Judges, which this year comprises of Executive Director of T&R Theakston Ltd. and title sponsor Simon Theakston, Festival Chair Ann Cleeves, Radio Times’ TV Editor Alison Graham, Head of Fiction at WHSmith, Sandra Bradley and Producer of the Radio 2 Book Club, Joe Haddow, as well as members of the public. The public vote opens on 1 July and closes 13 July at

Previous winners of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award include Denise Mina, Lee Child, Val McDermid, and Mark Billingham.

The winner of the prize will be announced by title sponsor Simon Theakston at an award ceremony hosted by broadcaster and Festival regular Mark Lawson on 16 July on the opening night of the 13th annual Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakstons Old Peculier.

In addition, Sara Paretsky, will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award. Sara was one of the first to write a female P.I. protagonist, having tremendous success in what had previously been a sort guy’s club, with most female characters being a dames in distress or femme-fatale. Past winners include Lynda La Plante, Ruth Rendell, PD James, Colin Dexter and Reginald Hill.