Winners for the 2012 EDGAR AWARDS.

The Mystery Writers of America have announced the winners of the 2012 EDGAR Awards.

Best Novel
GONE by Mo Hayder (Atlantic Monthly Press)

Best First Novel By An American Author
BENT ROAD by Lori Roy (Dutton)

Best Paperback Original
THE COMPANY MAN by Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit Books)

Best Fact Crime
DESTINY OF THE REPUBLIC: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President by Candice Millard (Doubleday)

Best Critical/Biographical
ON CONAN DOYLE: Or, the Whole Art of Storytelling by Michael Dirda (Princeton University Press)

Best Short Story
THE MAN WHO TOOK HIS HAT OFF TO THE DRIVER OF THE TRAIN by Peter Turnbull for Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine

Best Juvenile
ICEFALL by Matthew J. Kirby (Scholastic Press)

Best Young Adult
THE SILENCE OF MURDER by Dandi Daley Mackall (Knopf BFYR)

Best Play
THE GAME’S AFOOT by Ken Ludwig (Cleveland Playhouse, Cleveland, OH)

Best Television Episode Teleplay
HOMELAND pilot by Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon & Gideon Raff (Showtime)

ROBERT L. FISH MEMORIAL AWARD (Best first short story)
A GOOD MAN OF BUSINESS by David Ingram for Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine

Martha Grimes

M is for Mystery Bookstore, San Mateo, CA
Molly Weston, Meritorious Mysteries

Joe Meyers of the Connecticut Post/Hearst Media News Group

Congratulations to all the winners!