Winners of the 2014 Arthur Ellis Awards

Tonight, the Crime Writers of Canada presented the 2014 Arthur Ellis Awards.

Best Novel
THE DEVIL’S MAKING by Seán Haldane(Stone Flower Press)

Best First Novel
BAIT by J. Kent Messum (Penguin Canada)

Best Novella
THE GODDAUGHTER’S REVENGE by Melodie Campbell (Orca Books)

Best Short Story
FOOTPRINTS IN WATER by Twist Phelan (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

Best Book in French
L’ENFANT PROMIS by Maureen Martineau (La courte échelle)

Best Juvenile/YA
BONES NEVER LIE by Elizabeth MacLeod (Annick Press)

Best Unpublished First Novel (Unhanged Arthur)
COLD GIRL by Rachel Greenaway
This is the inaugural year of the CWC Grand Master Award, intended to recognize Canadian crime writers who have a substantial body of work that has garnered national and international recognition.

CWC Grand Master Award
Howard Engel